Google Plus: Why Google Going To Shutting Down Google Plus

O

Do you read Google’s Blog Daily? Hmm! Then you should know about Google+ news, it’s customer version officially going to shut down on 2 April 2019. Internet taking buzz over shutting down Google plus, everybody knows it, but only a few are identify the reason behind this. Google never shut down any product easily, their team strive to retain it, but with an immense security lapse at the end, their efforts were not enough to save Google Plus.

RIP Google+… Reason Behind Shutting Down Google Plus

Google+ have an estimated 395 million active monthly users with two billion registered users worldwide(Approx. 74% male & 26% female). This data is just to clarify the fact about Google+ popularity. With this extensive profitable data, Google is going to shutting down Google Plus for the consumer on 2 April 2019. Every internet users are surprised by these brave steps, but it will feed trust in the users.

Actually, Google+, Facebook and many more social media platform facing issue regarding the user data safety and they are unable to find a solution for this obscure thing. Facebook and Google+ both collect the user’s data by API and use it for their marketing or ad campaign. Somehow it looks okay at the first place, but on the contrary, it is reported as a cybercrime in many countries to sell personal information of users.

Table of Content

  • What is user data safety?
  • How social media platforms sell your personal info?
  • How to secure your personal info?
  • How to delete Google+ account?
  • Google plus is not the only one.
  • Should this step affect Google?
  • In a Nutshell.

What Is User Data Safety?

To give a better User experience and better result to the users, Social Media kept collect your data and sync them in proper order. Your data is gathered by your all-day activity on social media like you are giving time on a particular post or community, Likes, Comment, Share decide your interest, and it’s all done by API. With capturing your Browser History, Youtube History, and social media activity by API, Third party apps may collect data of your interest and use it to the marketing purpose.

How Social Media Platforms Sell Your Personal Info?

Let assume, you want to buy a pair of shoes and you are searching shoes on the Internet, then it’s a higher possibility that an advertise shown on social media is likely to be shoes related. Sometimes we have seen advertising related to our current location or interest. So with the use of API, social media collect all your data and sync it to give you a better result. They may use this data for marketing purpose and sell it to the third party.

How To Secure Your Personal Info?

Phew! It is very intricate to secure your personal data, but you can do it by yourself. Whenever an App or web portal wants your permission for personal information, check it properly and allow only necessary info. It is the only way to protect your personal data. Although, Google also looks very promising for its customer data security. So we can hope it will better option to sustain the Personal data in the Future.

How To Delete Google Plus Account?

Hmm! The possible question from your side. If Google+ shutting down then what will happen with all your post, your likes, shared content and so on. According to the official statement of Google, Users get account access, to download data and secure personal content so the user can save it on other platforms, otherwise, it will be automatically erased. Your Google+ backup data (Photos, Videos) on Google photos is still secure and will not be removed. To make an early call, you have to delete all your confidential information on Google+, if any.

Google Plus Is Not The Only One…

Google is looking very serious about secure user data, therefore, shutting down of Google plus is just an initiative towards data safety. Google announced that Android and Gmail also updates its security feature by not allowing call and contact information to the third party apps. For example, A messaging app could show you, your recent contact to drive better User experience but it looks irrelevant and Google going to change their Android permission feature to restrict this data loss in several months.

Should This Step Affect The Google…

A big yes… Yes, it will affect Google but in a positive manner. It is a bold move by Google to shut down Google Plus. This type of steps builds trust in the user’s mind, It looks very promising and trustworthy step. With the sunset of Google Plus, Many of us wanted to know is Google going to relaunch it or develop a brand new social app. It is not clear what is the future of Google+, but they just want to make a proper balance between User experience and Data security.

In A Nutshell…

It’s hard to shut down any venture, product or service because many developer and technical team strive to build a product like Google+. So yes, it is upsetting for Google’s side and plus user’s, but it is necessary to build trust rather than an app. It should be kept as a priority of every company, to sustain customer data and Google did it for their users. It takes almost 10 months to the full sunset of the Customer’s Google+, but it creates instant trust in the user’s mind. This step makes Google more trustworthy brand of the Internet. If you found something informatic in this post, then keep SHARING this piece of content with your colleagues.